Know your rights and responsibilities!

Participating in an off-campus, non-clinical activity this semester? Make sure you've signed our Student Acknowledgement of Protocols for VCU Experiential Learning Activities form!

REAL Council

The REAL Council is the standing committee that serves as an advisory board and a curriculum committee for the REAL initiative.

Assessment Committee members

Amanda Hall, co-chair
Director of Community-Engaged Research and Special Projects, Center for Community Engagement and Impact

Michael Schad, co-chair
Instructional Designer, Academic Learning Transformation Lab

Sarah Carrier
Academic Advising Coordinator, Global Education Office

Herb Hill
Director of Undergraduate Research and Creative Inquiry, Undergraduate Research Opportunities Program

Micol Hutchinson
Director, Pathways to the Arts and Humanities, Virginia Community College System

Muthoni Imungi
Director of Field Education/Associate Professor , School of Social Work

Christopher Marcoux
Director of Analytics, Institutional Research and Decision Support

Co-curriculum Committee members

Jimmie Gahagan, co-chair
Director, VCU Transform, Student Affairs

Fred Tugas, co-chair
Assistant Dean of Students, Division of Student Affairs

Michelle D. Hawkins
Program Manager, ICA Opportunities & Administration, Institute for Contemporary Art at VCU

Samara Reynolds
Director, VCU Career Services

Audrey Short
Interim Assistant Director of Academic Programming, Global Education Office

Andrea Becker
Associate Director of Residential Initiatives, Student Affairs

Virginia Damron
Associate Director, Career Education, Business Career Services (School of Business)

Curriculum Committee members

Sarah Golding, co-chair
Associate Professor, Director of Undergraduate Research, College of Humanities and Sciences

Jacqulyn Williams, co-chair
Assistant Professor/Head of Teaching, Learning, and Strategic Initiatives, VCUArts Qatar

Michael Abelson
Associate Chair, Department of Focused Inquiry

Amy Adkins
Director of Undergraduate Research, College Behavioral and Emotional Health Institute, Psychology Department

Stephanie Tignor
Director, Education Abroad, Global Education Office

Grace Wang
Assistant Professor of Pathology, MD, School of Medicine, Dermatology & Surgical Pathology

Patricia Cummins
Professor, French, School of World Studies

Donna Dockery
Director of Clinical Practice/Associate Professor, Counseling and Special Education, School of Education

Tabatha Easley
Associate Professor, Department of Music

Katie Elliott
Associate Director, Service-Learning

Danai Khemasuwan
Assistant Professor, Department of Internal Medicine

Sandra Mazzoli
Coordinator of Graduate Programs, Office of Graduate Studies

Aisha McGriff
Instructional Designer, Online@VCU

Bernard Means
Assistant Professor and Director of Virtual Curation Laboratory, School of World Studies

Lauren Mortensen
Senior Program Specialist, College of Health Professions

Maureen Moslow-Benway
Assistant Professor/Assistant Department Chair, Homeland Security Emergency Preparedness, L. Douglas Wilder School of Government and Public Affairs

External Constituencies Committee members

Cait Burns, co-chair
Director, Student Engagement, School of Business

Katybeth Lee, co-chair
Director, Business Career Services

Elizabeth Bambacus
Administrator, Student Engagement and Summer Studies, Division of Strategic Enrollment Management and Student Success

Caitlin Hanbury
Assistant Director of Community Affairs, College of Humanities and Sciences

Lauren Jackson
Director, First and Second Year Experiences and Transitions, Division of Strategic Enrollment Management and Student Success

Danielle Pearles
Associate Director of Employer & Experiential Development, VCU Career Services

Sandy Turnage
Director of Corporate Relations , Development and Alumni Relations

Latisha Taylor
Director, Alumni Career & Personal Development, Development and Alumni Relations

Internal Constituencies Committee members

Ian Coyle, chair
Transfer Coordinator, Transfer Center

Mary-Chris Escobar
Assistant Director for Academic Programs, da Vinci Center

Tom Myrick
Assistant Director, Strategic Communications, Office of the Provost

Allison Norden
Academic Advisor, Declared Majors, Division of Strategic Enrollment Management and Student Success

Meredith Sisson
Assistant Director, National Scholarship Office, Honors College

Steering Committee members

Naomi Abiyu
Student Government Association Representative

Jill Blondin
Executive Director, Global Education Office

Mary Boyes
Associate Professor and Honors Writing Program, Honors College

Kim Case
Director of Faculty Success, Center for Teaching and Learning Excellence

Heidi Crapol
Executive Director, Center for Urban Transformation

Shari Garmise
Executive Director of Collective Urban and Regional Impact, Inclusive Excellence

Robin McLeod
Video Producer, University Relations

Monal Patel
Associate Vice Provost, Institutional Research and Decision Support

Dominic Willsdon
Executive Director, Institute for Contemporary Art

General Committee members

Susan Bodnar-Deren
Associate Professor, College of Humanities and Sciences

Kathy Bradshaw
Assistant University Librarian, James Cabell Library, VCU Libraries

Holly Dean
Assistant Radiation Safety Officer, Safety and Risk Management

Artis Gordon
Director of Student-Athlete Development, VCU Athletics

Kitty Maynard
Assistant Director, Center for Teaching and Learning Excellence

LaToya Robinson
Associate Registrar, Office of Records and Registration

Krista Scott
Associate Dean for Undergraduate Programs, College of Humanities and Sciences

James Wiznerowicz
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, School of the Arts